Home / About CIS

About CIS

The Commission on Independent Schools (CIS), one of three commissions within NEASC, accredits and supports a wide range of private schools in the six states of New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Schools served include traditional boarding and day preparatory schools, private elementary schools, schools serving students with special needs, and religiously affiliated schools of many faiths. Through an ongoing cycle of reflection, internal assessment, and school improvement planning, CIS assists schools to ensure that all students experience a high quality education.

Through the efforts of elected Commission members, professional and support staff, and thousands of educators and administrators who volunteer their time to serve as professional peer reviewers each year, hundreds of diverse independent schools from across New England are NEASC/CIS Accredited or Candidates for Accreditation. Each of these schools is accredited using the same protocols and materials in order to assure that the school is faithful to its mission, conducts its programs appropriately to meet its goals, and fulfills the Standards of Accreditation established by the Commission on Independent Schools.

Profile of CIS Member and Candidate Schools

(as of 6/26/2018)

  Members Candidates Total Schools
Connecticut 154 4 158
Maine 40 2 42
Massachusetts 241 3 244
New Hampshire 47 3 50
Rhode Island 53 0 53
Vermont 39 1 40
Outside of New England 2 0 2
TOTAL 576 13 589
NEASC Overview

The New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) is an independent, voluntary, nonprofit membership organization which connects and serves over 1500 public, independent, and international schools in the US and worldwide. Founded in 1885, NEASC (nē-ăsk) has been working to establish and maintain high standards for all levels of education longer than any other accreditation agency in the United States.